Types of Rudrakshas: Significance and Benefits

Types of Rudrakshas


Significance of Rudraksha Beads

The rudraksha tree is mainly found in the Gangetic plains, the foothills of the Himalayas, and parts of Southeast Asia. With its connection to Lord Shiva, spiritual seekers highly value this seed. It is revered as a manifestation of Lord Shiva's tears. The Rudraksha Jabala Upanishad, which is associated with the Sama Veda, contains interesting information about the Rudrakshas and specifically talks about the classification of the Rudrakshas. 

As per Vedas and Puranas, Rudra represents the cosmic wind, an extremely powerful energy that perpetually sweeps over the cosmos. As a result, new heavenly bodies are formed and destroyed, thus maintaining the cycle of creation and recreation.

 It is also believed that the word Rudraksha derives from the Sanskrit word "akarshana," which means to draw. Rudraksha beads attract energies to promote health and harmony while eradicating negativity.

Types of Rudraksha Beads and Its Benefits 


Types of Rudraksha Beads and Its Benefits


Different types of rudraksha beads grow on trees. They are based on vertical lines down the surface. These lines are known as mukhi or faces, or "crevices or ridges in the surface." Rudraksha has different mukhis or faces from 1 to 21. Of these, 1 through 14 are readily available, and 15 to 21 are rarely found. Each has its meaning.

1 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Shiva

Ruling planets- all planets


  • It helps to fight impure and evil energies and prevent injustice.
  •  It is very effective for individuals who desire to arouse and broaden their inner consciousness.
  •  Relieves headache and migraine issues.
  • Regulates blood pressure and controls stress levels
  • This rudraksha beads help to attain the highest state of mind, resulting in pure focus and commitment.
  • Wearing a 1 Mukhi Rudraksha allows one to immerse in the eternal blessings and devotion of Lord Shiva and separate himself from worldly affairs.

2 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Ardhanareshwar. 

Ruling planet - Moon.


  • Those affected by the afflicted Moon can find help as it helps clear the negative vibrations.
  •  This bead is an amalgamated form of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati. Hence the wearer enjoys a unique combination of the energy of Shiva and Shakti.
  • This rudraksha mala bead helps eliminate fears and anxieties.
  • Relieves muscle pain, kidney problems, and infertility issues.
  • Strengthens relationships such as teacher-student, husband-wife, child-parent, etc.

3 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Agni (Fire). 

Ruling Planet - Mars


  • It is said that 3 mukhi rudraksha mala bead help one break free from past sins and clear karmic debts.
  • It also supports those who want to start a new life based on their recent karma (unrelated to previous births).
  • Helps in achieving moksha and frees the individual from the cycle of life and death over and over again. 
  • Cures disorders related to the liver and stomach.
  • Relieves heavy emotions like guilt, fear, and feelings of inferiority.

4 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Brahma. 

Ruling planet - Mercury.


  • Improves speech and communication skills 
  • Opens the door of knowledge, wisdom, and creativity and helps to reach the highest spiritual level.
  • Thisrudraksha bead promotes prosperity and growth to the wearer. 
  • Enhances memory and concentration.

5 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity - Rudra Kalagni 

Ruling planet- Jupiter


  • The rudraksha mala bead increases inner awareness and helps to receive the blessings of Lord Shiva.
  • It removes anger, greed, lust, delusory attachment, and ego. 
  • Eliminates afflictions of the planet Jupiter
  • Bring peace of mind and support to overcome unexpected difficulties.

6 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Kartikeya 

ruling planet -Venus


  • Calms the ill effect of the planet mars
  • Strengthen determination and help to achieve emotional equilibrium.
  • Helps to develop courage and willpower
  • The wearer is also blessed by Goddess Parvati, Goddess Saraswati, and Goddess Maha Lakshmi
  • Helps to attain health, prosperity, happiness, and comfort

7 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Goddess Lakshmi 

Ruling planet - venus. 


  • This rudraksha bead helps attract prosperity and wealth.
  • Promotes good health
  • One can set themselves free from evildoers and ill-wishers
  • Eliminates ill effects of planet Saturn

8 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Ganesha

Ruling planet - Rahu


  • Removes obstacles of the wearer and leads to a happier life.
  • Promotes a calm mind 
  • Brings success in all endeavors.
  • Protects from the ill effects of Rahu. 

9 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity - 9 incarnations of Goddess Durga (Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Maha Gauri & Siddhi Datri)

Ruling planet- Ketu


  • The Lord of Death and Lord Kaal Bhairav bless the wearers of this rudraksha bead.
  • Eliminates the fear of death and promotes self-confidence and strength
  • Protects the individual from the ill effects of all 9 planets.

10 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity - It represents Lord Vishnu.


  • Helps the wearer overcome difficult times
  • Protects from evil energies and black magic
  • Blessed by the 10 Maha Vidyas, which are the forms of Maha Kali

11 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity - an eleventh form of Lord Rudra i.e., Lord Hanuman


  • Promotes courage in the wearer
  • Helps to gain decision-making skills to perform the right action
  • Increases one's devotion toward Lord Hanuman

12 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity - Lord Sun

Ruling planet - Sun


  • The rudraksha mala bead eliminates the negative effect of the planet's Sun
  • Enhances administration and leadership skills
  • Protects the wearer from disease, worry, and fear
  • Helps to possess radiance, brilliance, strength, fame, and prestige

13 Mukhi Rudraksha

Representation of deity- Lord Kaamdev and Lord Indra

Ruling planet - Venus


  • Helps to achieve perfection In alchemy, research, and medicine.
  • Promotes knowledge and debate skills
  • Bestows success and prosperity in life

14 Mukhi Rudraksha

Ruling planet - Saturn


  • The rudraksha mala bead is also known as the divine gem
  • It represents the third eye of Lord Shiva
  • Helps to activate the Ajna chakra or third eye chakra
  • Helps the wearer to make the right decision for future 
  • Protects from negative energies

15 Mukhi Rudraksha

Ruling planet - Rahu


  • Enhances intuitions and leads individuals closer to the almighty, freeing them from all negative shades of the soul.
  • Provides mental and emotional balance